Wonderland Christmas card using ombré technique

Greetings everyone! I’m excited to show you something a little different that I worked on yesterday. As I stated in a previous post I have a lot of elegant eggplant cardstock left from a bridal shower I hosted a few months ago and I want to use it for some non traditional Christmas cards. This is one of the cards I created.

Wonderland Christmas card using ombré technique
The card base is elegant eggplant with a thin whisper white mat. I used whisper white for the the stamping also. I punched a 1 3/4 inch circle mask and adhered it in the upper right corner using a temporary adhesive. Using a brayer and an elegant eggplant stamp pad I turned the mat sideways and rolled and lifted the brayer after each swipe moving slightly left each time.  Cover the entire piece bottom to top. Blending is key here. You do not want stripes. Remove your circle mask to reveal the moon. Be careful not to smear the ink, it’s easy to do. Use archival black ink to stamp your trees using the wonderland stamp set. Stamp the sentiment on the bottom center with versamark. Sprinkle with silver embossing powder and tap off the excess. Use a heat tool to set and voila your done!


I’m using this card in the Watercooler Wednesday challenge. This was a new technique for me and I had fun experimenting with it. I can’t wait to see what all the fellow papercrafters submit. I’m new to challenges but am enjoying playing along with everyone.

24 thoughts on “Wonderland Christmas card using ombré technique

  1. A beautiful, peaceful scene, Renee. I love the way you’ve used the ombre effect for your background. Having that lovely moon as well puts the card over the top. Love it! Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday challenge this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

